Group Members


Suhayla Sequeira (MSc student, 2017 – present). Biosynthesis of the fluorometabolite nucleocidin by Streptomyces calvus.

Becky Lo (PhD student, 2017 – present). Mechanistic analysis of the phosphonate degrading enzymes PhnY* and PhnZ.

Ola Pasternak (MSc student, 2016 – present). Biosynthesis of nucleocidin by Streptomyces calvus.

David Simon (PhD student, 2013 – present, co-supervised with Richard Oleschuk). Influence of the bldA gene on the proteomes and secondary metabolite profiles in Streptomycetes.

Eric Lawrence (MSc student, 2018 – present). Investigation of PhnY* / PhnZ pathways.

Dr. Simanga Gama (postdoctoral fellow, 2018 – present). Analysis of CP-lyase PhnY* / PhnZ pathways.



Kaitlyn Pinkett (MSc student, 2015 – 2017). Biosynthesis of the fluorinated natural product nucleocidin by S. calvus.

Jacqueline Séguin (M.Sc., 2013 – 2015). Mechanistic analysis of the organophosphonate degrading enzymes PhnY and PhnZ.

Alyssa Brewer (M.Sc., 2013 – 2015). Analysis of cryptic biosynthetic pathways in Streptomyces calvus.

XiMing Zhu (M.Sc., 2012 – 2014). Exploration of cryptic biosynthetic pathways activated with a functional bldA gene in Streptomyces calvus.

Usman Aftab (April – Oct., 2013, visiting Ph.D. student, University of the Punjab). Discovery of anticancer compounds in Streptomyces isolated in Pakistan

Fern McSorley (Ph.D., 2008 – 2013). Enzymatic cleavage of carbon-phosphorus bonds.

Katie Groom (Ph.D., 2005 – 2013, co-supervised with Vic Snieckus). Studies into the Biosynthesis and Chemical Synthesis of Indolocarbazoles and Related Heterocyclic Compounds. Metalation of Indole-6- Carboxamide.

Arne Gessner (visiting Ph.D. student, Albert-Ludwigs-Universität-Freiburg, June-July 2012). The effect of the bldA gene on Streptomyces secondary metabolite production

Ryan Latimer (M.Sc., 2008 – 2010 ). Studies on the chloramphenicol halogenase CmlS.

Di Hu (M.Sc., 2007 – 2010, co-supervised with Derek Pratt). Computational Studies of Lipid Autoxidation and Solvent-Mediated Antioxidant Activity and a Kinetic Study of a Halogenase in the Pyrrolnitrin Biosynthetic Pathway.

Meagan Perry (M.Sc., 2006 – 2009). Improving protein solubility via directed evolution.

Shu-Mei He (M.Sc., 2005-2008). Towards the structure and function of CP-lyase enzymes.


Postdoctoral Fellows

Dr. Daria Trofimova (2008 – 2010). Production of reactive oxygen species by antibodies (joint with Derek Pratt).

Dr. Anupam Bhattarachya (2005 – 2007). Indolocarbazole biosynthesis and halogenases.

Dr. Yan Luo (2004 – 2006). Analysis of bacterial CP-lyase enzymes.


Visiting Scientists

Prof. Bjarne Hove-Jensen, Dept. of Biology, University of Copenhagen (2010 – 2012). Analysis of the pathway for organophosphonate degradation by carbon-phosphorus lyase.



Shauna Deorajh (4th year ENG Chem student, 2017-2018). 4th year thesis project on the functional characterization of nucleocidin biosynthetic enzymes.

Stephanie Hrab (4th year BSc student, 2016-2017). 4th year thesis project and summer student.

Alexa Torelli (3rd year life science, 2017). Summer student.

Linor Berezin (4th year BSc student, 2016-2017). NSERC summer student and lab volunteer. Biosynthesis of nucleocidin.

Dragos Chiriac (3rd year BSc student, 2016-2017). iGEM Synthetic Biology team leader.

Sophia-Klara Gassenschmidt (exchange student from Freiburg University, Germany, August – September, 2016). Biosynthesis of nucleocidin.

Jessie Hebbert (BSc, 2015-2016, 4th year thesis in Chemistry). Biosynthesis of nucleocidin in S. calvus.

Akpevweoghene Akohwarien (BSc, 2015-2016, 4th year thesis in Chemistry). Identification of the product of a NRPS in S. calvus.

Shane Colborne, 4th year thesis in Chemistry, 2014-2015.

Nathalie Butler, 4th year thesis in Biochemistry, 2013-2014.

Aric Huang, co-op student via McMaster Chemical Biology program and NSERC USRA, Jan – Aug, 2013.

Anne Li, 4th year thesis in Chemistry, 2012-2013

Stephanie Vanner, NSERC USRA, 2012

Christine Klaus, diploma exchange student from Bechthold lab (Albert-Ludwigs-Universität-Freiburg), Mar-June 2012

Hanna Zhao, co-op student from McMaster Chemical Biology Program, Jan-August 2012

Anjuli Szawiola, 4th year thesis in Chemistry, 2011- 2012

Matthew Rankin-Byrne, 4th year thesis in Chemistry, 2011 – 2012

Zhimeng Jia, NSERC USRA, 2010

Matt Wong, 4th year thesis in Chemistry and NSERC USRA, 2009-2010

Joshua Wood, 4th year thesis in Chemistry, 2009-2010

Christina Sun, NSERC USRA, 2009

Stuart Macfie, 4th year thesis in Biochemistry, 2008-2009

Shelly McArthur, 4th year thesis in Chemistry, 2008-2009

Leslie Young, 4th year thesis in Chemistry, 2008-2009

King (Polly) Ho, 4th year thesis in Biochemistry, 2007-2008

Matthew Wathier, 4th year thesis and NSERC USRA, 2007-2008

Mats Junek, NSERC USRA, 2007

Elizabeth Wong, NSERC USRA, 2007

Amelie Menard, 4th year thesis (joint with Prof. D. Pratt)

Fu Yan, 4th year thesis in Biochemistry, 2006-2007

Young Chang, 4th year thesis in Chemistry, 2006

Taila Hartley, NSERC USRA, 2005 and 2006

Dianna Wang, NSERC USRA, 2005

Karin Ho, 4th year thesis in Chemistry, 2005-2006

Julia Kennedy, 4th year thesis in Biochemistry, 2005-2006

Shane Nagle, 4th year thesis in Chemistry, 2005-2006

Allison Tsang, 4th year thesis in Biochemistry, 2005-2006

Christopher Yang, 4th year thesis in Biochemistry, 2005

Sam Molyneux, 4th year thesis in Biochemistry, 2005